Recognizing Bipolar Disorder Triggers

This is a decent article about bi polar triggers. I have always cast aside the idea of being bipolar because I never, ever have the highs, or mania, associated with bipolar. As I mature however, since my depression, (which I once thought was unipolar and now I am not so certain) is so very low, I wonder if its possible to have lower periods of manic episodes, for example, is it possible that my mania, is actually more like an average person’s “normal” ? I have always thought I was on a cycle of deep depression and less depression, never really feeling level and certainly never high on life, like I have associated with mania.
However, sometimes, I think about some of my bad habits. I have a history of some pretty reckless sexual behavior and I have been known to go on some pretty extreme shopping sprees. Does this constitute my mania? Also, I have some pretty OCD behavior, but only at times. For example, if I start cleaning, then I am not happy until it is all clean. (Keeping in mind that I do not clean very often) But, I am talking, I will stay up 48 hours to ensure every last piece of everything is in its proper place. Surface cleaning is only acceptable when someone is enroute to the house, but deep cleaning is the only kind of cleaning I know how to do. If I am going to spend time cleaning in the kitchen, then I clean out every cabinet and nook and cranny before I go to sleep. Same with moving, I cannot sleep until every box is opened and every item finds a home. (Now I might lay down and actually close my eyes to sleep, but it is not a restful sleep and I do not sleep for long, until it is all done….
Another, but very different example, is when I find a new hobby. I completely immerse myself in it. I have to have every piece of equipment, and lots and lots of books to read about the topic. It doesn’t matter what the hobby… when I took up photography, I had to read and read and read and buy the best camera. When I was crocheting, actually, I have been crocheting since I was 16, but everytime I get back into it, I have to have new books, new recipes for projects and new yarn. I have an entire Scrapbook room in my house and a craps table in my living room….
I will save you the details of my sexual exploits, but suffice it to say that I am glad to be healthy. But seriously, some of these exploits were as recent as a year ago. I liked to think of my self as the sexually enlightened woman, but really some of what have done is downright unsafe! Honestly, when I look at these times I can say that I felt good, like I was in the upswing of my depression… so, is this a possible sign that I am bi-polar? Could it be that I am on the wrong meds?
Does impulsive and obsessive behavior swing my diagnosis the other way? I do not know, I sure am hoping that my journey to heal my depression will take care of the problem, whatever the text book says…
But, just to emphasize my point, I have a ton of books on health and depression crowding the other side of my bed right now….. is this idea to get healthy just my latest fad? Will it end up another unfinished project stuffed in a corner some where? I sure hope I can stick with this, make it a life change and not my latest interest, because my life my very well depend on it.

Bipolar Disorder Diagnosis

Living with bipolar disorder can feel like a rollercoaster ride. The extreme ups and downs of the disease can disrupt the lives of the patient and those around them. To make the disease more manageable, it’s important for the patient and caregivers to know what may trigger episodes of mania and depression.

When one family member has bipolar disorder, it’s as if the whole family has the illness. Primary caregivers may need to help with medications, talk to doctors, and keep a predictable, low-stress household routine. It’s also essential for caregivers to pick up on the sometimes subtle signs that their loved one is slipping into mania or depression.

Bipolar Disorder: Mania and Depression

Bipolar disorder, also known as manic depression, is a serious mental illness that causes marked shifts in mood, energy and activity levels, according to the National Institute of Mental Health. The extreme “high” is called…

View original post 527 more words

Leave a Reply

