Beating the sugar addiction, Meditteranean Diet and a Three day cleanse

I love sugar! I crave sugar! I could live on nothing but sugar! At least in my head, I could live on nothing but sugar, but apparently, my body is disagreeing with me. For the past few weeks, I have been researching depression from so many different angles with the intent of “kicking it’s ASS!”

I have become pretty educated on diet and depression and come to the conclusion that my diet sucks (of course, I really have always known this part) but how much it sucks and how much it could be contributing to my state of mind is not something I have given much thought to, Until now.

Rock Bottom… 60 mg of Cymbalta per day (After exhausting prozac, wellbutrin, seroquil, lamictal) and I still feel like shit! I have good days and bad days, but the bad days are really, really bad and the good ones are mediocre at best. We already looked at the missing serotonin and tryptophan in my diet, so it is time to take control!

As I sit here guzzling my morning 1 Liter bottle of Mountain Dew, I am researching sugar addiction. I really think if I am going to tackle my diet woes, this is the big one! Sugar! The more I read, the more I realize that this sugar addiction can be weighing heavily on my depression, not to mention my excess belly fat.

I actually don’t mind the taste of most healthy food. I really enjoy a good salad and I could find myself living on a Mediterranean diet. Last night, my on-again, off again significant other treated me to a beautiful authentic Italian dinner. (Which, here in El Paso is a treat!) . I had the Lobster Risotto, but I kept stealing the salad off of his plate. This tells me that my body was craving the nutrients in the salad. (Or maybe it was just the feta cheese!).

Anyway, this got us on the conversation of my wanting to work on my eating habits and exercise more this week. My boyfriend is the kind of guy who does NOT believe in failure of any kind. He thinks every thing is mind over matter, put your money where your mouth is… So, as the words come out of my mouth, I realize that I am now bound to my word, he will do and say everything that he can to motivate me to stick to my diet and exercise plan this week and moving forward. (On a side note, he feels the same about my depression, he is among “the others” who feel that I can just put my mind to it and just do it! He doesn’t understand the messy house or the messy mind!)

Much to my surprise, he is on board and will eat healthy with me. The reason I find this surprising is a little bit of a story. The man lives on fast food. He actually has eaten anything I put in front of him (with the exception of sea food). He can eat 3 McDoubles and 2 McChickens for a meal and does not gain a pound. But, he is Colombian so he will eat all the parts of the animal you and I don’t even want to look at. He likes to cook in lard and the best part of the steak is the fat. You get the idea, right? So when he said he would eat healthy with me, I am taken aback a little bit. While he is Colombian, he is a bit of a dichotomy as he spent many of his years as a  child in Paris. So, that makes him a bit of a foody also.

Anyway, He has agreed to eat healthy with me and I think a Mediterranean diet is something I could follow, it’s mostly healthy, with the good fat from the olive oil and all the fresh veggies. He won’t eat the fish, but I can probably make chicken and I can probably sneak in some tofu and stuff like that.

So, that is the plan. He is going to eat healthy with me, I am going to research more about beating my sugar addiction and we are planning to start with a 3 day cleanse. Yep, my guy is going to do a three day cleanse with me.

So, I will be back in my next post with more specifics and grocery lists etc.

<!–
_
–>

One thought on “Beating the sugar addiction, Meditteranean Diet and a Three day cleanse

Leave a Reply

