Daily Dose: Thoughts on Depression

The following thoughts on depression come from: “The Doctor’s Book of Home Remedies”

1. Be with Friends – socialize at least twice a week. Don’t just schedule business meetings, client lunches, telephone talks but get together with people, talk, laugh and relax. Fire up those feel good neurotransmitters.

My thoughts: the problem is, most of us don’t have those strong relationships anymore. Sadly, too many of us have isolated ourselves from the people who matter. It is difficult to start new friendships when you are feeling at your lowest and we have done a good job at destroying the friendships we have.

2. Get your Chuckles – Watch a comedy show on TV, see a funny movie or go see a live comedian on stage. Happiness is contagious.

My Thoughts: I agree with this one and wish I could do a better job, I am trying to include a daily uplifting something on the blog and do more things to bring laughter to my life.

3. Let it be – It’s okay to feel anything. There are no bad feelings. Accepting how you feel helps you get past it. Similarly, remind yourself that feelings change and you will survive. Tomorrow is another day!

My Thoughts: This is so true! We often feel guilty over our depression. It may be better just to let it all out and move on. Give yourself permission to grieve of feel bad for a certain amount of time and then move on.

4. Stick to a Schedule – Alternating rest with activity brings healing by restoring the body’s natural rhythms. It is important to sleep at the same time every day and get up at the same time. This way when your inner world is chaotic, the schedule will bring you some sense of order.

My Thoughts: This is So True! If we can! Sadly, sleep disturbances are part of the disease but if we can get to sleep at a decent hour and wake at a decent hour and maintain some sort of schedule it will help us get back on track quicker. If we allow ourselves to sleep all the time, the way we want when we are depressed, it will be more difficult to get back on schedule.

5. Sleep – Lack of sleep can cause depression like symptoms such as low energy, lack of concentration and may worsen existing depression. Get enough rest, but don’t over do it either. Gauge how much sleep you need by how rested you feel when you wake.

My Thoughts: This is the hardest one for me, my sleep is always so fragile. Sometimes I cannot sleep at all and other times, I can sleep for days. If I could keep to a schedule, my life would be so much easier. Sadly, I have to take the sleep when I can get it because insomnia keeps me awake much too often!

6. Stay Current: Tune in to TV or Radio News. Pick up newspapers and magazines. If you stay up on current events, you won’t feel so withdrawn from the world around you.  One caveat, minimize the amount of traumatic events you watch at once.

My Thoughts: I think is part of keeping with a schedule, Staying up on current events, makes it feel a little bit more like a normal day.

7. Be an optimist: Even if you don’t believe it at first, your attitude is likely to be a self-fulfilling prophecy.

My Thoughts: I believe this more and more as I get older. You reap what you sew!

8. Don’t Decide Now: Keep decision making to a minimum until you are feeling more clear!

My Thoughts: Duh!

9. Forgive Yourself: Even with mild depression, we get forgetful and clumsy. Try to laugh it off and keep it all in perspective.

My Thoughts: So important, we are more harsh on ourselves than anyone else could ever be!

 

While some of the advice in this article are obvious, I think it is good to remind ourselves of the basics, its easy to get bogged down in the negative emotions and forget how to put one foot in front of the other!

Leave a Reply

