Defy the Odds: Catia’s Story

Just a bit of freshness and hope.

choosegoodproject

I had the awesome opportunity to connect with Catia when we both attended the incredibly powerful Unleash the Noise summit back in March. Catia is an amazing young lady, with a passion for mental health awareness. I was thrilled when she reached out to share her story with me. 

catia

Hello, my name is Catia and I’m 22, a recent Social Service Worker graduate, poet/writer extraordinaire and love reading. I’m also an advocate in my community, especially about mental health. I have Minor Depression which I think might have been Major at one point in my life.

I’m feeling nervous as I write this because I’ve never shared my story publicly before. I’ve always been afraid to show people what’s under this “perfection” I carry. I used to let people see a student with a high GPA, active leadership, always lending a hand and constantly smiling. Unfortunately, the truth was that…

View original post 1,243 more words

Leave a Reply

